top of page

Day 2 update: Star Struck

Woke up this morning to my grumbling stomach as my alarm clock instead of the familiar voices of my wife, kids or smell of coffee. Usually i would have the option of making something quick to satisfy my hunger but that option is not there today.

the safe feeling of being at aultman helped but it still proved to be a restless night as every noise in the building woke you up because of the paranoia that sets in from being in an unfamiliar setting.

I got to visit the chapel at aultman where i found the most amazing Bible. Over time the Bible had become the only hope families could cling to as their loved ones went through medical procedures over time. It could be proven by the writing in the margins and highlighted favorite scriptures by the family members and petients themselves who found the chapel as a haven of rest amongst the chaos and pain outside those walls.

I knew i had to wait for 11am to get something to eat at the salvation army so i just passed time till then walking around the city for what seemed like eternity. After i got to the salvation army a good hot meal of chicken nuggets, mashed potatoes and peas was awaiting me. The food, the staff and everything about my experience there was amazing. i was so grateful to finally get a hot meal and people to talk to about life.

jo jackson.jpg

soon after my meal i was walking up the street when i saw michael Jacksons father joe Jackson. He was making a stop in Canton this weekend to honor MJ at the R&B hall of fame induction at the Palace last night.

He caught my attention because of the security detail around him and the type of outfit he had on. Gold chain, gold earings, gold bracelet. i mean he was dressed to impress. I then walked up to him and asked him if i could get a picture of him to show some of my friends to which he agreed.

The evening consisted of me talking to a few of the guys and playing some chess just sharing the love of God and hope with them. i then had a friend come pick me up so i could attend a class at Malone University for my masters classes because i could not afford to miss my class for this experience.


 

RISING

HOPE

CANTON

bottom of page